The Duck

UPDATE: In November 2010 a good friend of mine borrowed my Ducky costume to wear to one of the home games and made it into the local paper!

As an alumni of the University of Oregon I have always been (and always will be)  a Duck fan. In 2009 Chip Kelly kicked off his first season as a head coach and led the Ducks all the way into the Pac-10 championship as well as the Rose Bowl. Halloween 2009 wasn’t special because it is was an excuse to wear costumes but it was also the day that the Ducks hosted (and beat) USC’s Trojans at home for an epic game that even ESPN’s Game Day recognized. To show my support for my favorite team I decided that my Halloween costume should pay homage to the Ducks  and I went as “Puddles” (although technically he is NOT actually called “Puddles” but rather “The Oregon Duck”.) Whatever, technicalities aside I was the Oregon mascot for Halloween. Here is the product of my labor of love:

Thanks to my friend Bryn I even had a little duck beak (that quacked even) to tie it all together! I thought the end result of the costume was pretty good (I even had cute little ruffly white underwear) and most certainly recognizable to any Duck fan as “The Oregon Duck”. Sadly enough, when I entered a costume party at a local Sports bar dedicated to Oregon athletics called the “O-Bar,” I did not walk away with the prize. I was bested by a costume-from-a-bag struttin Red Ridin Hood who happened to be a friend of all the bartenders. But I couldn’t be too mad because guy who took the male costume prize was my friend Clint (a dead trojan) whose costume I helped paint. Oh well, tail-gaters a plenty were very much appreciative of my threads which made me happy enough!

The “Poison Ivy” costume featured in the fourth picture is a collaboration of mine that I created along with my friend Scarlett Storm (wearing the costume).

*And just one more note. This costume is obviously not an official UO product, nor is it trying to be. It is not for sale. It was ONLY for my own personal use. It is now sitting in my closet and is only being showcased here as a part of my collection of costumes. I hope that keeps the copyright hounds off my back! :o)

~ by Amber on December 21, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Duck”

  1. Hi, i was wondering what material u used to make this dress? & did u use a pattern? I’m going to be the duck this year, and love this dress u made!:)

  2. Hi there! I’m so sorry that it’s taken me so long to respond, I just now found your comment.

    For the dress I used the Buttermilk See&Sew B5375 pattern (http://butterick.mccall.com/b5375-products-10289.php?page_id=978) and just modified it to add the flap on the back of the dress, a zipper, and the yellow trim on the sleeves and the bottom hem. I also excluded the scrunch in the front of the dress.

    For the “O” I just printed it out and used it as a stencil to get the shape just right.

    For the material, I just found some cheap sturdy fabric at Joanne’s fabric.

    Hope you still get to do the costume! Happy sewing. :)

Leave a Reply

 
